X Claire Reika Wright at bGallery X

http://www.claireika.com/

http://www.bgallery.co.uk/artist-profile.asp?artistid=741

 I combine traditional and digital painting techniques to produce constantly changing imagery in intriguing 3D spaces. In my video work viewers are taken on semi abstract journeys full of mesmerizing colour, evocative sounds and music. My 2D canvases and prints are often the inspiration, or reflections, on the video works.

I was born in England, but spent many years in Australia returning to live in Oxfordshire in 2001.  For the past twenty years I have had a career as an artist and composer. Whilst having been originally trained in traditional painting methods I have merged these skills with a wide range of self-taught digital techniques. My work is in private and public collections around the world.

I find that with abstract art, and particularly with time based and interactive work, viewers make their own very personal interpretations. I want my work to fill viewers heads with ideas, even though initially, they may make nothing of it at all. My art is about self-expression and the communication of thought and emotion.

I was shortlisted for the 2012 Lumen Prize, an international digital fine art competition and have had my screen based work and installations in group shows in Gallery 27, Cork Street, London, The Financial Control Authority’s foyer, and in Spaces Gallery in Hong Kong.

Image

